I admit

I admit I’ve spent too much time today thinking about how Madelinetosh dyes her yarn today… I see how the colors are layered like a Rothko painting in each skein and my brain just starts going into overdrive. First I thought she must overdye in stages, and now I’m not so sure. Today I tried dyeing two skeins, each a little differently. One had different amounts of gray pigment, the other different amounts of ecru pigment. Then I overdyed the gray with plum, and the ecru with sage (which wasn’t really sage, but more gray).

experimental overdying...

After that, I put a flat layer of gray over the sage, and a flat layer of ecru over the plum. I was just messing around, so I wasn’t really thinking too much planning the end result. I didn’t like the end result, so I put a flat wash of gray over both for a final dye.

And then I realized she must just use the kettle dyeing technique. D’OH!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

